Jam On It: Patrick Paige II – “Prelude”

Receive a co-sign from Syd the Kyd, and you instantly have my ears. Patrick Paige II, more familiarly known as the The Internet bassist, released a solo project entitled “Prelude,” that is riddled with instrumentals laden with experimental vibes that invoke a weighty sense of bliss that has Thundercat’s influential fingerprints all over it. Paige takes his own stabs at creating a brand of neo-soul separate from that of the Internet’s, and does so with promise as a seasoned veteran of interweaving rhythms and melodies that are complex, but not overwhelming. He commissions Durand Bernarr to contribute slight vocals on “Until Next Time” and “Take the Time,” adding an extra layer of harmony to further accentuate a sound that is fit for bleak winters that some of us tend to find solace in. Listen to “Prelude” below.

Nina Tabios

Nina Smoove aka Champagne Ninang. Certified hooligan. $F Bay Area born and bred.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s