Mick Jenkins Shares Video For New Single ‘Drowning’

From the upcoming debut album The Healing Component, arriving September 23rd.

American hip-hop artist Mick Jenkins recently shared the music video for his second album single and Red Bull Sound Select track “Drowning”. The cinematic visual paints a haunting picture of Mick as a slave left to drown, struggling down the river to freedom. The pensive tone compliments the subject matter of the Nathan Smith-directed video.

Written and produced in BADBADNOTGOOD’s studio in Toronto, the single marks the third collaboration between Mick Jenkins and the band this year, following their one-off “The Artful Dodger” and “Hyssop of Love” from BADBADNOTGOOD’s recent album IV.

unnamed (2)

“We met Mick for the first time briefly at a show and I remember being blown away by his live set. A little after that, Red Bull Sound Select contacted us to put together a session with him, and we jumped at the chance. To work with someone that has such strong vision was very inspiring for us. Everyone was throwing out ideas and it was a really organic workflow. Mick sang live as we recorded the track, so that raw energy is present throughout the whole song.” – BADBADNOTGOOD

unnamed (1)

“It has been a one of a kind experience working with BADBADNOTGOOD. A lot of the time they were just jamming and I was freestyling until we came across things we liked. I introduced the idea of covering TheSenseiBlue’s ‘On The Map,’ a viral hit from YouTube and the subsequent laughs and enjoyment ensued. It was the inspiration for ‘Drowning.'” – Mick Jenkins

1. The Healing Component (prod. by Rascal & THEMpeople) 2. Spread Love (prod. by Sango) 3. Daniel’s Bloom (prod. by Sango & Abu) 4. Strange Love (prod. by THEMpeople & Dee Lilly) 5. This Type Love? (interlude) 6. Drowning feat. BADBADNOTGOOD 7. As Seen in Bethsaida feat. theMIND (prod. by THEMpeople) 8. Communicate feat. Ravyn Lenae (prod. by Kaytranada) 9. Plugged (prod. by IAMNOBODI) 10. 1000 Xans feat. theMIND (prod. by Kaytranada) 11. Prosperity feat. theMIND (prod. by THEMpeople) 12. Fall Through (prod. by Rascal and THEMpeople) 13. Love, Robert Horry feat. jSTOCK (prod. by THEMpeople) 14. Angles feat. Noname & Xavier Omar (prod. by Monte Booker, THEMpeople, & Cam O’bi 15. Fucked Up Outro feat. Michael Anthony (prod. by Dpat)

Along with the release of the new video, Mick shared The Healing Component‘s cover art and track listing. Executive producers THEMpeople were the contributors for the majority of the album, with notable help from Kaytranada, Sango, Monte Booker, and Cam O’bi. Features also include theMIND, Noname, Ravyn Lenae, Xavier Henry, jSTOCK, and Michael Anthony. The album is now available for pre-order on iTunes. You can hear the previously released first single “Spread Love” produced by Sango below.

unnamed (5)

Mick will also be hitting the road next month alongside up and coming St. Louis rapper Smino on a 12-city North American tour. Tickets for the tour are available today for $3 with RSVP at RedBullSoundSelect.com.

[Sources] BBNG Session photos by: Maria Jose Govea / Red Bull Sound Select / Content Pool

Staff Writer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s